[Label :INFINITE FOG] Jazz Rock

Item nr : 52888

On Order (2 weeek(s) aprox.)


Available on miércoles 30 septiembre, 2020

No Customer Ratings Yet.


Edited on deluxe 8-sided Digipak CD, exclusively written inner notes by famous researcher and biographer Douglas Payne & remastered by Martin Bowes at Cage Studios (UK).

The long-awaited reissue of rare Eastern and psychedelic Jazz Album by the famous Hungarian guitarist, originally released in 1968!
For this first time, this ‘Extended Edition’ comes with 2 bonus tracks: special radio versions of Fire Dance / Ferris Wheel from a ultra rare 7” single [1969]. Gabor Szabo was one of the most original guitarists to emerge in the 1960s, mixing his Hungarian folk music heritage with a deep love of jazz and crafting a distinctive, largely self-taught sound. Escaped from Hungary at age 20 on the eve of the Communist uprising, he eventually settled in California, where he attended Berklee College (1958-1960) and in 1961 joined Chico Hamilton's innovative quintet featuring Charles Lloyd. Urged by Hamilton, Szabo crafted a most distinctive sound and in 1966, he recorded the exceptional solo album “Spellbinder”, which yielded many inspired moments – including "Gypsy Queen": the song Santana turned into a huge hit in 1970.
Szabo formed an innovative quintet (1967-1969) featuring the brilliant, classically trained guitarist Jimmy Stewart and recorded many notable albums during the late '60s. The emergence of rock music (especially George Harrison, Eric Clapton, and Jimi Hendrix) found Szabo experimenting with feedback and more commercially oriented forms of jazz.

01. Galatea's Guitar
02. Half the Day is the Night
03. Song of injured Love
04. The Fortune Teller
05. Fire Dance
06. The Lady in the Moon
07. Ferris Wheel
08. Fire Dance (single version)
09. Ferris Wheel (single version)